NOSS 2020 Conference Keynote Speakers

Dr. Jennifer Bloom

Jenny Bloom joined the faculty of the Department of Educational Leadership and Research Methodology at Florida Atlantic University in August 2015. In August 2019 she was promoted to Full Professor with tenure and is also working as a 50%-time Fellow in the Provost’s Office. In addition she is the Coordinator of the Higher Education Leadership Master’s Degree Program. Jenny founded the Office of Appreciative Education at FAU in 2015. She previously served as a Clinical Professor and Director of the Master’s degree program in the Higher Education & Student Affairs Program at the University of South Carolina (USC) from August 2007 to August 2015. Prior to USC, she served as the Associate Dean for Student Affairs & the Medical Scholars Program at the University of Illinois College of Medicine at Urbana-Champaign. Dr. Bloom has co-authored six books and numerous articles and has presented her work at over 350 higher education institutions and conferences. She served as the 2007-08 President of the National Academic Advising Association (NACADA) and was named the recipient of NACADA’s Virginia N. Gordon Award for Excellence in the Field of Advising in 2017.

Dr. Vincent Windrow

Dr. Vincent Windrow is the Associate Vice Provost for Student Success at Middle Tennessee State University and a popular national conference presenter and keynote speaker.  Dr. Windrow has principal responsibilities for the leadership and oversight of many of the university’s high-impact initiatives including both its early arrival and early return programs.

Under his direction, the Scholars Academy – a high-profile early arrival program – was scaled from 32 to 450 participants and boasts a four year 80.4% first year retention rate average. Recently, a second program was developed to assist in the assimilation of first year students who do not fit the historical profile of the existing program yet need a head-start on their collegiate success. Further, Windrow developed and coordinates the award-winning REBOUND program, an early return program that re-positions freshmen who achieved below a 2.0 grade point average during their first fall semester. He also leads the university’s learner support program, which includes traditional tutoring and supplemental instruction.

Celebration Brunch Keynote Address

Saturday, March 7, 2020

10:00 a.m.

"Lessons Learned From 10 Years of NADE/NOSS Executive Board Experience"

Dr. D. Patrick Saxon

Dr. D. Patrick Saxon is a Professor and Director of the fully online Developmental Education Administration Doctoral Program at Sam Houston State University. He has published extensively in the field of developmental education and is coauthor of the book Attaining Excellence in Developmental Education: Research-Based Recommendations for Administrators with Dr. Hunter Boylan. For 22 years he managed the research activities of the National Center for Developmental Education. He is the editor of Research in Developmental Education, an advisor for the Kellogg Institute, a member of the National Organization for Student Success Executive Board, and serves on the Editorial Review Board of the Journal of College Reading and Learning. In 2015, he was inducted as a Council for Learning Assistance and Developmental Education Associations Fellow.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software